News: CMLS News

Jack Johnson Named To CMLS Hall of Fame

Thursday, September 14, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

AUSTIN, Texas – Jack Johnson was inducted into the Council of Multiple Listing Services (CMLS) Hall of Fame at the CMLS conference (CMLS2017) in Austin on Sept. 14. The honor is a means of recognizing and acknowledging a lifetime of leadership, energy, and intellect that improves and elevates the multiple listing services industry.

“Jack Johnson was an important part of the Northwest Council of MLS — the braintrust that eventually became the Council of Multiple Listing Services we know today,” said Tom Hurdelbrink, president and CEO of Northwest Multiple Listing Service, Inc. “He was a mentor to so many, with a direct and pragmatic approach that encouraged thoughtful discussion, engagement, and an early vision for how MLSs could better serve our customers and clients. His involvement can be felt in the success that CMLS is experiencing today.”

Johnson began his career in the MLS industry in the early 1970s at the Tacoma Pierce County Association of REALTORS® MLS (TPCAR) before moving on to the North End Brokers Association, an MLS located in the Seattle area. It was there he coordinated an early merger of five MLSs in the greater Seattle area to form the Puget Sound Multiple Listing Association (PSMLA) and became its president and CEO. PSMLS later became the Northwest Multiple Listing Service.

During his time at the MLS, Johnson led the industry to create the WIN organization. He also made the Northwest Council of MLS what it was to become CMLS. Over the years, Johnson has served as president of the association several times and as conference host six times. He was an early adopter of both printed and digital real estate listings, created the first working IDX, and introduced an Intranet MLS search engine called Surveyor.

“The CMLS Board of Directors and myself recognize that without the tireless contributions of Jack Johnson, we would have never be able to celebrate this annual conference — our 60th anniversary conference — let alone been able to accomplish so much on behalf of our members,” said Denee Evans, CEO of CMLS. “Even beyond CMLS, Jack is well known for his participation in many industry efforts — the Inner Circle, COVE, and the National Association of REALTORS® among them.”

Johnson’s induction into the CMLS Hall of Fame was preceded by Ann Bailey in 2016, Brian Larson in 2015, Pat Bybee in 2013, Jeannette Biddle in 2012, and Peter Shuttleworth in 2011. The honor recognizes the contributions of the inductee to CMLS and the MLS industry at the close or culmination of the inductee’s career in the MLS industry. Although inductees are recognized at the annual CMLS conference, inductions do not take place annually.

# # #

About the Council of Multiple Listing Services (CMLS)

The Council of Multiple Listing Services (CMLS) is the professional trade organization that serves to advance the MLS industry in North America through unified leadership, collaboration, and education across the real estate industry. It was formed as a premier forum, advocate and resource in 1957 and has since evolved into a volunteer-led organization that is responsible for the advancement of MLS through education, innovation, and the implementation of best practices, industry standards, and next generation solutions in support of MLS providers with over one million subscribers.